Celebrating My Accomplishments

I had to work late last night.  It was scheduled, I knew I had to, but that didn’t make it any easier to get up this morning at 6:45 am to see my wife off to school and take my kids to the bus stop. I honestly wanted to go back to bed when they were off to their destinations.

The last couple of months of 2013 I fell in to a vicious cycle.  I wouldn’t go to bed when I got home from work, I’d go back to bed after dropping the girls off at the bus stop and I’d get up in time to eat before going to work again.  Quite honestly, I feel like I was missing out on a lot of life.  This also resulted in my yoga practice suffering, me gaining weight and my anxiety running rampant.  I’m happy to have broken this cycle.

Reflecting back on this time made it easier to get up and go running this morning despite it being 39 degrees (F) out and my body telling me “no way.”

The first half of my run was a chore.  I tried to stay in the moment and that helped but I was also thinking about how tired I was and how my legs didn’t want to move.  Negative thoughts that really slowed me down.  The second half of my run, however, I got myself fully focused on the positive aspect of the city around me and enjoyed the ride.  I started to think of how far I had gone with just my two legs and in my head I celebrated this fact.

The reward for me was not only a warm shower, but the satisfaction of hard work that was paid off.  It was a half hour out of my day and if I hadn’t left the house I wouldn’t have had the benefit nor the pride in myself.  Now, I’m so happy I went.  I’m so proud of myself and keep telling myself it was all worth it.  This is also a very powerful psychological tool that you can use to help you accomplish more.

Going forward I know there will be days that are easy and days that are hard.  On the days that are easy I’ll think of all the beauty in the world and how I’m so lucky to be here to see it all as it happens.  On the hard days I plan to think back to days like today when I told myself, “in the end it was all worth it.”

I feel as if this lesson can carry me through times when I’m anxious and holding myself back.  If I just tell myself that everything will be fine and most of all, that it’ll all be worth it, it may not feel so bad.  The more I accomplish, the more I’ll achieve and the more confidence I’ll have.

Be well, be positive.

Leave a Reply

