Committing Acts Of Kindness

365 Acts Of Kindness

I truly believe that humans are designed to help each other. As a result, when we do what we’re naturally designed to do, we will find peace.

The above graphic really spoke to me when my wife posted it on Facebook last night.  Doing one act of kindness each day will change 365 lives.  No act of kindness is too small.  Everything you do will make an impact on someone.  

A couple of months ago I was speaking to a man who is a life coach.  I had never met a life coach before and, while I knew little about what they do, I always thought it sounded like a silly idea.  He was giving me little tips on how to be more positive and to block out negativity in my life.  He also told me about how the universe gives you back what you put out there.

“How do you feel when you find a dollar?”, he asked me.

“It makes me happy. It’s only a dollar but I get excited”, I responded.

He went on to tell me that if I leave a dollar in a public place and someone finds it that the happiness they feel will come back to me.  So I can spend a dollar and create karma that in turn benefits me?  That’s what it sounded like.

I have a friend who, to put it kindly, is a little co-dependent. I can relate to him as he seeks approval from other people in order to feel good about himself.  There are days when he is out and about with friends and is in a great mood.  Then when he hasn’t seen his friends in a few days he starts to put it out there that he needs to get out of the house.  It is sometimes heart breaking to me to watch him try to find someone to be around.

Calling him up and telling him I’ll be over in a couple of minutes really changes his whole world.  Suddenly he is upbeat, smiles, laughs a lot.  Kindness can come in many forms.  It can be as simple as reaching out to a friend to tell them you’ll be there for them.  It can be leaving a dollar laying around and a complete stranger finding it or it could be telling a friend you’ll help them move.

Lately, I’ve decided to be more giving.  As a result, I’ve started to see some of the good that I’ve put out there come back to me.  It makes me wonder if giving money isn’t the only thing I can invest myself in.  Is it possible that I could give kindness and have it come back to me?  Maybe it’s a matter of messaging a friend and telling them that I hope they have a great day or reaching out to someone and asking them if they want to get lunch.  There are so many ways that I can help to brighten people’s days and improve their lives.  In the end, it doesn’t matter if it does, but this could also improve my life as well.

During this year I plan to become a better giver of myself.

Be well. Be positive.

Leave a Reply

