Embracing Change

As someone who has dealt with a fair amount of anxiety in the past I have always resisted change.  Routine, over the years, has become an absolute must in my life.  Looking back, I remember that the easiest times in my life were times where I had very little routine outside of work or school.

Lately, I keep seeing and hearing quotes that basically state that if you’re not moving forward in life then you’re moving backward.  I’ve been trying to stay in the same place mentally and I feel like it’s moved me backward.

2014 is ticking away.  It’s already April.  The weather is getting warmer, we’re planning our summer trip to Michigan and the kids are going to be out of school before I know it.  2014 is my year.  This is the year to get my head screwed on right so to speak.  This means change.

What I’m finding is that I feel different.  I feel happier, I look forward to change.  Suddenly, everything I do is an adventure.  I don’t feel stagnant anymore.  I try to look at life in wonder and amazement.  Everything I see, is a component of life.

Some people say this feeling wont last.  That’s fine.  If my anxiety comes back at some point, I realize it’s just temporary, it’s another wave in the flow of life.

Living in Orlando is like being on an amazing journey.  It also comes with some challenges.  One of the hardest things is the way people come and go.  Often times I make good friends only to see them move on to another city.  But this change does a couple of things that benefit me.  First, it makes room for new friends.  It has also taught me a valuable lesson to not get too attached to things.  This means embracing change.

So here I am, I’m letting life flow, things change, routines fade and friends move away and I feel better than I have in years.

Be well. Be positive.

2 thoughts on “Embracing Change

  1. Those people who try to plant negativity into your life are the ones who are stagnant and don’t want to change. Looking at things in a new light brings new meaning to life. And good on you for embracing change! Keep going 🙂

Leave a Reply

