When The Wheels Come Off

I can feel it happening.  My head is starting to spin out of place.  I can stop it from happening, I know I can.

A couple of weeks ago my wife was in a car accident.  I’ve held up really well despite having to deal with the insurance company, doctors, lawyer, rental car and of course my wife (just trying to keep her positive).

Friday was a particularly hard day.  I was stressed out because one of the kids in my neighborhood had been hitting my 6 year old.  Then one of the other neighbor kids went missing.  Several of us parents searched everywhere for about an hour before we found out he was at a friend’s house down the street.

This sent me in to a downward spiral.  It exhausted me.  But I wasn’t able to stop there, I had to get some things for my daughters who were starting soccer Friday night and Saturday morning.  We had just signed up my girls for soccer and I had never met her coach before.  We ended up getting my eight year old to practice late because we couldn’t find her coach.  I’ve also had very little sleep this past weekend.

I’m fine.  There is nothing wrong.  My kid are happy, my wife has a great doctor… I just need to bring my self back to the moment.  I need to stop worrying about things I cannot change right now.

Change is going to happen.  Things, both good and bad, are going to happen.  If there was a way to stop them after they happened then life would be too easy.  I cannot change what has already happened so I need to accept it and keep moving.  Dwelling on the past, even the recent past, is going to be my downfall if I cannot being myself back to the present.

Be well, be positive.

2 thoughts on “When The Wheels Come Off

Leave a Reply

