Ice Bucket Challenge and Opportunities

I’m always on the look out for opportunities to give to some cause.  I don’t have a lot to give but I am always so happy when I”m able to.  Unless you’ve been living in a cave that doesn’t have WIFI, you’ve no doubt seen the ice bucket challenge that has been raising money for ALS research.  I was recently nominated for this challenge and I made a video of it.  I’ll warn you, however, I’m a little awkward in front of the camera.

This challenge is pretty funny.  The whole world seems to be doing it, which is nice.  I feel like we’ll look back on this in 10 years and say “remember that time the whole world came together and did something positive?”

This isn’t usually the type of charity I feel called to give to.  I don’t mind giving to charities like this because there’s a need but I generally stick to giving to the less fortunate.  My wife and I decided to give to another medical research program that doesn’t do experiments on embryos.  We’re very much pro-life and ALSA.org does embryonic stem cell research.  Our organization is called The John Paul II Medical Research Institute.  I don’t mean to use this blog as a way to push my agendas.  At the end of my video my wife asks me who I want to nominate for the challenge.  I told her no one because giving should be a personal decision.  Where you give, is your calling and you should give where you feel happiest giving.

ALS is a terrible disease.  I hope a cure is found soon.  If you aren’t familiar with this disease I highly recommend you read “Tuesdays with Morrie” by Mitch Albom.  Albom is a very talented writer for the Detroit Free Press.  He also hosts a daily radio show.  When I was growing up in Michigan I would read his columns and his books.  Normally, he is a sports writer.  This book is about him visiting his old college professor every Tuesday as Morrie dealt with ALS.  I finished this book on a flight to Los Angeles in 2001.  I had to choke back the tears so the rest of the passengers on the flight didn’t think I was a nut.  It’s an amazing book and I highly recommend you read it for the life lessons as well as the ALS awareness.

Be well.  Be positive.

2 thoughts on “Ice Bucket Challenge and Opportunities

    • Thank you!! I have actually won this award once (twice maybe) before. I wont be nominating more people but I’ll answer your questions for you:
      1. Describe yourself in ONE word.
      Loco!

      2. When and why did you start blogging?
      I started several years ago and have written and contributed to several blogs. My most successful being – Minimalist Workout

      3. Who influenced you to read?
      My dad used to pay me a dollar for every book I read when I was a kid.

      4. Is there a person that you look up to? Who is it and why?
      My parents. As a father myself, I now realize the sacrifices they made to raise me and my brother and sister.

      5. Where’s your favorite place when you’re reading?
      My couch.

      6. What’s the perfect pair for a book, is it coffee or tea?
      I usually read in the morning so coffee but I prefer tea overall.

      7. Name three authors that you have read almost all their books? (Consider authors that you have read more than 5 works.)
      Tim Ferriss. Other than him (he’s only written three books), I’ve never read more than one book by any author. I’m a very slow reader.

      8. Aside from writing and reading, name one activity that you do most of the time?
      Play with my kids.

      9. What’s your favorite song lyric?
      From Louis Armstrong, Wonderful World –
      The colors of the rainbow, so pretty in the sky,
      Are also on the faces of people going by.
      I see friends shaking hands, sayin’, “How do you do?”
      They’re really sayin’, “I love you.”

      10. If you are not you, who would you want to be? (Real person here folks!)
      Good grief! I have a hard enough time just being me… Let’s go with.. my wife. So I could see things from her side.

      11. What is your life’s mantra?
      Just Love.
      Love is the meaning of everything in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

